The Safely Surrendered Baby Law allows a parent or person with lawful custody to surrender a baby confidentially, without fear of arrest or prosecution for child abandonment. A parent has up to 14 days from the time of surrender to reclaim their baby. During this period, the person who surrendered the child can return to the hospital to reclaim the child.
A parent who is unable or unwilling to care for an infant can legally and confidentially surrender their baby within 3 days of birth. Babies may be surrendered to any public or private hospital emergency room in California. A bracelet will be placed on the baby for identification and a matching bracelet will be given to the parent. The bracelet will help identify the child if the parent changes their mind during the cooling off period. A baby can be safely surrendered 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
No. Nothing is required. Hospital personnel will give the parent a medical information questionnaire designed to gather family medical history, which would be useful in caring for the child. It is up to the parent if they wish to give any additional information concerning the baby.
Safely surrendered babies are given a medical exam and placed in a foster home or pre-adoptive home
Parents who safely surrender their baby may leave the hospital emergency room without fear of arrest or prosecution for child abandonment. Their identity will remain confidential and they will have the comfort of knowing their baby will remain in safe hands. If during the cooling off period the parents decide that they want to reclaim the baby, they can take the identifying bracelet back to the hospital, where staff will provide information about the baby and how to go about reuniting with the baby.
The purpose of the Safely Surrendered Baby Law is to protect infants from abandonment. Abandoning an infant puts the child in extreme danger and is also illegal. The new law helps prevent exposing the child to the risks of abandonment and helps protect the parent from prosecution for criminal child abandonment. Under this new law, no one ever has to abandon a child again.
The State of California has a new statewide, toll-free hotline that will give callers information on safe surrender sites in their area. The number is 1-877-BABYSAF or 1-877-222-9723.
If you or someone you know wants to surrender a baby, please take the child to any hospital emergency room. Remember: no shame, no blame, no names . . . it's the law. If you would like to know more information about the Safely Surrendered Baby Law, please visit http://www.babysafe.ca.gov/.
Adopted from http://www.babysafe.ca.gov/res/pdf/SSBCampaign.pdf as of 10/01/2010.
The State of California has a new statewide, toll-free hotline that will give callers information on safe
surrender sites in their area.
Copyright © Stanislaus County, California 2015
The Stancounty.Com website has been translated for your convenience using translation software powered by Google Translate. Reasonable efforts have been made to provide an accurate translation, however, no automated translation is perfect nor is it intended to replace human translators. Translations are provided as a service to users of the Stancounty.Com website, and are provided "as is." No warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied, is made as to the accuracy, reliability, or correctness of any translations made from English into any other language. Some content (such as images, videos, Flash, etc.) may not be accurately translated due to the limitations of the translation software.
The official text is the English version of the website. Any discrepancies or differences created in the translation are not binding and have no legal effect for compliance or enforcement purposes. If any questions arise related to the accuracy of the information contained in the translated website, please refer to the English version of the website which is the official version.
Adult Protective Services
This site cannot accept reports of abuse or neglect of elders or dependent adults. To make a report,
please call the 24 hour reporting line at:
Child Protective Services
Professionals, who in the course of their work, come in contact with families and children (medical practitioners, non-medical practitioners, daycare providers, probation officers, social workers, etc.) MUST report to a "child protective agency" (Police, Sheriff, Probation, Child & Family Services). All other citizens MAYreport. (Penal Code Section 111165):
- physical abuse
- sexual abuse
- severe or general neglect
- willful cruelty or unjustifiable punishment
- unjustifiable mental suffering
- any of the above in out-of-home care
A phone report must be made immediately upon suspicion or knowledge. A written report is required within 36 hours.
Reporting forms can be requested by calling the C.P.S. 24-hour phone line at:
209-558-3665 or 1-800-558-3665
Information and Referral
For assistance with CalWORKs, CalFresh (Food Stamps) and or Medi-Cal or if you want to apply for assistances, please call: 1(877) 652-0734
Reach us Online
Give us your questions, comments or feedback. Reach us 24-hours a day
Report an environmental concern: